I am SEW thankful series: DIY Ruffled hem

Standard
I am SEW thankful series: DIY Ruffled hem

I heart ruffles…anywhere and everywhere, for the most part. So, I think they are great to add to the bottom of pants too short on my long-legged toddler or on the bottom of my own dresses that are too short on me (now that I’m married and thus not on the man-hunt 😉  Truthfully, I put on dresses sometimes and see the length differently now that I’m frequently running and lunging and squatting with a wee one who runs around like a banshee. Plus, I sometimes ask for my husband’s two cents, who sometimes seems to think anything above the knee is sexy, which is not the look I’m going for when out at storyhour or church…not to mention a little extra length can be helpful for a body after it’s birthed a baby, if you know what I mean.

“Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to
be praised.” Proverbs 31:30

Easy Ruffle hem:

1. Hem (longwise) a strip of fabric approximately 1.5 to 2 times as long as the diameter/length of the dress hem to which you are adding the ruffle, the longer the strip, the more densely ruffly you can make it. As for width, I used a strip that was about 1-2 inches wider than I wanted the final result to fall below my dress hem.

2. Put a running stitch (longwise) along the strip of fabric, opposite to the side that you hemmed – I used my machine on the loosest stitch setting, leaving plenty of thread loose at the end of the fabric/stitch

Here’s an image I “pinned” of what a running stitch looks like

3. Now, gently by hand, I pull the hanging thread(s) with one hand while bunching up the fabric towards the start of the stitch, working your way from the loose threads side to the start, until you have a nice, somewhat even ruffle going on through the length of this stitch

4. Then I folded the fabric down and over the ruffled stitch, then hemmed it into the bottom hem of the dress, making sure that right sides were both facing the same way…

So, I’m a terrible sewing tutor, so here’s some links to better ruffle step-by-step from crafty mama and Grinning like an idiot.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

