{Easy} Baked French Toast

Standard

20130107-142953.jpg

I absolutely love French toast, but then I recently discovered the “casserole” version that could be prepared the night before and simply baked on the morning for enjoyment, and now I’m hooked! Plus, it gives more room for experimenting and adjusting for everyday or for a holiday.

First, I tried recipes from My Recipes website via Pinterest and from Rach’s blog, both delicious! We felt a little healthier eating the one with fruit on top, though. So, I tried to slim up the recipe a bit and put lots of fruit on top – here’s the result:

20130112-094450.jpg

Ingredients:

  1. Loaf of bread (10-12 slices, depending how many you can fit in your baking dish) – I use regular bread I have on hand, or I buy a sweet bread such as cinnamon raisin or apple strudel for a special treat
  2. 6 eggs or egg-whites (usually I’ll do 2 eggs and the equivalent of 4 egg whites)
  3. 1.5 cups milk
  4. ~ 2 tsp vanilla
  5. 1/4 cup sugar (optional)
  6. butter to coat bottom of pan
  7. 1/4 cup brown sugar
  8. bag of frozen fruit (peaches work great)

Preheat oven to 375. Butter a 9″ x 12″ pan, then place a single layer of bread slices on bottom. Whisk the eggs, milk, vanilla, and optional sugar. Pour half the egg mixture over the bread; then place a second layer of bread slices on top, followed by the rest of the egg mixture. Now, place the fruit on top and sprinkle the brown sugar on top of fruit.

Now, you could have done this the night before, so just cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until morning. If you do it the morning of, that works for me too!

**Bake at 375 for 45-55 minutes.

*Notes: If I don’t put fruit on top, I’ll melt 1/4 cup butter and drizzle that on the top along with some sprinkled white sugar for a kind of crystallized glaze topping. Once, I put the frozen blueberries between the layers of bread instead of as a topping, then put my butter/sugar on the top – very delicious also! It’s hard to go wrong. I’ve also mixed in a little fat free coffee creamer to replace some of the milk for added richness.

If you’re using a larger baking pan, or just want more mush to your dish, I recommend using 8 egg (or egg whites) and 2 cups milk, keeping the ratio of 1 egg to 1/4 cup milk…

2 responses »

  1. YUM!! I love french toast too, but the idea of prepping it the night before and just throwing it in is awesome!! I’m going to have to pin this too so I don’t forget it! Thanks!!

  2. Pingback: Brunch Menu | Whimsy in Love

Leave a Reply

