Carrots and Peanut Butter

Standard
Carrots and Peanut Butter

My latest feeling of accomplishment when it comes to my toddler’s vegetable consumption has come from marrying peanut butter to shredded carrots. I thought of doing it because my dad used to make us peanut buyer smoothies and throw in a few raw carrots. I know there’s mixed feelings about sneaking vegetables into your kid’s diet, and I do think that children should learn to eat vegetables outright, to an extent…but I don’t like raw carrots myself. Plus, it is not outright lies (like certain holiday traditions that are widespread…), and if you take the approach of telling your family what you have “snuck” into the meal…after they’ve finished eating, then I would call that no lying at all!
I checked out jessica seinfield’s second cookbook from the library and liked it so much that I went out and bought the first one; cauliflower infused cheesesticks were worth the whole thing! 🙂
Anyhow, Pen Elaine does not notice the shredded carrot in her spoonfuls of pb, for dipping crackers or just eating off the spoon. Of course, she’s not even two yet, but an older kid would definitely not notice if you’re using it on a pbj sandwich.

20130321-100536.jpg

Leave a Reply

