Baby See; Baby Do

Standard

20130507-151852.jpg

We went to an art exhibit and saw a sculpture of a dancing girl; the photos above are Pen Elaine’s attempts to re-enact her move – it was so cute! She can’t resist an excuse to copy someone who seems anything close to being “upside down.”

My little girl is all about imitation these days. The obvious area is in her language development because she will repeat anything and everything we say, but she more subtly is imitating our expressions (she’s been doing that for quite a while, starting back when she would imitate my Honey’s stern, “you’re on the verge of getting in trouble” face, which is amazingly realistic and hilarious), our behaviors, and our affinities.

20130507-152303.jpg

This is Pen Elaine trying to be like mommy and daddy when we go swimming. She found our goggles, that I wear, and the snorkel mask thing is what Daddy wears. In fact, any time she sees a picture of someone wearing a swim mask or snorkel, she labels them as “Daddy.” It was really funny the first time she said that!

imitation @ Whimsyinlove

I love this kind of stuff: here is Pen Elaine getting her nails painted, like mommy; I probably have more to do with this than her actually caring about having painted nails like me…

Now, more than ever, with my little parrot at home, I am aware that I am being watched and followed and imitated by my Pen Elaine. I can’t help but be reminded of Matthew 18:6: “If anyone causes one of these little ones—those who believe in me—to stumble, it would be better for them to have a large millstone hung around their neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.” I want her to emulate and repeat beautiful words and passions and kindness for others. When I speak of worldly things more than eternal matters, that is what she will hear and repeat. When I sing songs about Jesus and God’s love, that is what she will repeat. So, even though her most repeated phrase right now is “What happened?”…we are working on learning the words to Philippians 4:4-8, “whatever is right, whatever is noble, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable, if anything is excellent or praiseworthy, think about such things…” Right now, at almost 2, I think those lovely things include the alphabet and using the big girl potty!

Leave a Reply

