Throwing out my Toddler nets

Standard

Pen Elaine and I were reading one of my favorite book series from when I was little, Read-aloud Bible Stories, by Ella K. Lindvall, memorable illustrations by Ken Renczenski. The pictures are so vivid and touching, and the stories ring with simple truths, so I still enjoy them as an adult while Pen Elaine loves them, too. We were reading the story of when Peter and some other men had been fishing all morning and found no fish to catch, but after Jesus came and told them to try again, they caught so many fish in their nets that they had to call for help to pull them all in. The way the story is told in this book is interesting because it highlights that Peter wanted to please Jesus. He knew how unsuccessful their fishing efforts had been that day, but he chose to obey Jesus and throw out the nets one more time for the simple reason of pleasing Jesus by obeying His request. How well do I respond to God’s commands in the spirit of Peter? Do I follow God’s calling once in order to get results, then give up when I don’t “catch any fish?”

For whatever reason, the message of this story rang especially close to my heart on this day…in particular to my mother of a two-year-old heart. Reading the story of the fishermen reminded me of potty-training, training my little girl to obey her parents, to come when I call, to try healthy foods, to learn new skills, to show kindness and sharing with her friends, to say “please” and “thank you.” It is so easy to lose heart in child-rearing, to grow “weary of doing good.” Reading this story gave me a little boost for the week, to lean on God to faithfully follow His calling in my life as a mother and as His child.

“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.” Galatians 6:9 ESV

20130812-132548.jpg

20130812-132556.jpg

4 responses »

  1. I LOVE these books. Our younger daughters’ godparents gave her all four, and as the director of children’s ministry in our church I use them all the time. Glad to know someone else enjoys them, too! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Mommy & Me class: Big & Little & October Fun | Whimsy in Love

  3. Pingback: Mommy & Me class: Go fish and Don’t lose Hope | Whimsy in Love

Leave a Reply

