Healthier Homemade French Onion Dip

Standard
Healthier Homemade French Onion Dip

20130826-144117.jpg

So, one of my pregnancy cravings, besides orange juice and easy food in general, is chips…which leads to dip. I’m not typically a salty or chip person, but when pregnant, I could easily sit and eat an entire bag of potato chips. So, I had indulged in a container of French onion dip recently, but when it ran out (in a couple days), I didn’t want to run out to the store, so I hunted for an easy recipe that only called for what I had at the house. I jumped off from the recipe I found at BiscuitsnCrazy with a few alterations to suit my kitchen and desire to make it as pregnancy-healthy as possible.

 

 

 

Ingredients:20130826-144124.jpg

1 onion, chopped (I used a white one)

olive oil, 1-2 Tbl

dash of salt

1-2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp garlic seasoning

2 cups Greek yogurt

(dash of parsley & dried onions on top)

 

Heat oil in pan, then pour in chopped onion and let carmelize, about 10 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Let cool, then mix with rest of seasonings before adding folding in the Greek yogurt.

This hit the spot for me, and my Honey thought it tasted like a fancy restaurant (I didn’t tell him I used yogurt until after he’d given his approval). Different from the store-bought variety, this stuff has authentic onion flavor come through, since you are actually eating small bits of onion. This is why it tasted “fancier” or more authentic or something. We really enjoyed it and felt good about eating this healthy version of dip! Next time, I might try zesting the onion to make the chunks even smaller…

Leave a Reply

