Early Christmas card photos!

Standard

20131118-115900.jpg

I grew up on real, hold-them-in-your-hand Christmas cards, so it’s one of those traditions that I can’t give up…even though I really liked the e-cards I received last year…maybe one day I’ll make the eco-switch.

Until then, I love the whole craziness of figuring out what the least expensive route is to having the most adorable Christmas card possible…or ever, whichever comes first. This year, after being in a Bible/Christmas study with Angela Turner, and watching our group come up with a list of all the activities and tasks that surround the Christmas season, it was obvious that not everything could possibly get done during those 4 weeks between Thanksgiving and Christmas, and she made the point that whatever you can get done ahead of time, the better. So, being pregnant this holiday season (and having a beloved sister graduating from college in another state), I decided that our Christmas photo could not wait until after Thanksgiving, when the tree farm opens, as is our short-running tradition, and my sweet Honey agreed to make our tripod photo session happen in mid-November. Besides, down here, it is just as likely to feel like Christmas weather in mid-November as mid-December.

So, here’s our way of making Christmas magic happen early!

DCIM101IMAGEInspired by this photo on Pinterest, I came up with a backdrop idea to replace a Christmas tree farm. This ended up being much easier than hauling toddler and prop stuff out to a tree farm, since our location was our back yard! I painted a tree shape on brown packing paper, using white craft paint, and let dry. Then, we hung it up on the brick wall with packing tape and used the same tape to attach Christmas lights and a few ball ornaments. The end of the light strand was hung high enough to be out of the shots, and an extension cord allowed it to reach the outdoor outlet. I used a paper lantern star to top off the tree (and as a bonus, it hid some of the light cord). I also added a strand of doilies folded and clothes-pinned to a string of twine that I already had in my party/banner storage.

DCIM101IMAGEPen Elaine, at 2.5, was not thrilled with posing for pictures, especially since we were simply using a tripod and camera timer…but having planned-ahead poses helped, especially using some that involved lifting her in the air or letting her sit on dad’s shoulders, but just changing things up kept her busy and happier.

 

 

DCIM101IMAGEHowever, the best thing (which I saved until we were desperate) was having a special treat ready – a cup of marshmallows. I put them in a cup cute enough to be photographed!

 

20131118-115916.jpg

20131118-120000.jpg

DCIM101IMAGE

One response »

Leave a Reply

