Original onesie designed by Big Sis

Standard

20140129-164921.jpg

I know I saw this somewhere on Pinterest or possibly linked in projectrunplay.com…and tucked the idea in the back of my mind for when I had a baby and a big sibling. This was super easy and quick!

1. My little girl drew a picture with pen onto a piece of white paper – I asked her to draw a picture of her and her baby brother…but at 2-and-a-half, she draws what she wants, and I’m not sure if she drew that or just tried filling the paper with swirls 🙂

2. I pinned the picture onto the front of a onesie, using several straight pins scattered around to prevent sliding or stretching of the fabric when I started the sewing stage.

3. Very carefully, I used my sewing machine to follow the artistic pen lines with a running stitch. I used forward and backwards stitching and moved that onesie in all different directions as I tried to only stitch on top of drawn lines, to keep as much of the integrity of the artwork as possible. 🙂 (I used green thread, as you can see.) The tricky part is to not sew the front of the onesie to the back!

20140129-164934.jpg

4. Finally, with care, I tore off the paper from the onesie, much like tearing a perforated paper out of a notebook. I removed all the big pieces and as may of the tiny pieces as possible, but any little remaining remnants get removed when you throw this onesie through the wash.

20140129-164948.jpg

Now, it’s done! Your little one can enjoy wearing a piece of art, and your bigger one can enjoy seeing her artwork being proudly worn by baby brother!

20140129-164921.jpg

Leave a comment