Easy Toddler Activity: Bath time for little animals

Standard

20140130-140150.jpg

I’m still learning how to manage a toddler and a nursing infant without screentime, but here is one of our recent activities with no setup time but lots of entertainment time!

Pen Elaine went through a major animals/noah’s ark phase in which all our oodles of accumulated “little people” animals, gifts and hand-me-downs, have been out and about – lined up on the fireplace or stuffed in Noah’s ark or piled in a jungle train, etc. I remembered hearing someone talk about keeping their toddlers entertained by just letting them play in a sink of water, and I also know how much Pen Elaine loves using the spray nozzle at the kitchen sink (as much as I try to stifle that urge) when helping me wash produce. So, I realized she would be thrilled to “wash” her little, plastic animals to her heart’s delight at the kitchen sink…so that I could not closely supervise while nursing and changing my Snuggly Man.

20140130-140211.jpg

We got her setup with all the plastic animals on one side of the sink, within reach of the spray nozzle. We also laid out a towel for animals to sit and dry after being washed, AND the most helpful thing I did was put on her craft smock that kept her clothes reasonably dry…we may have just had to change her shirt due to wet sleeves. A towel draped over the front of the sink helped keep the floor and her stool/chair dry, also.

Believe it or not, I actually had to make her stop washing animals – she wanted to keep going after 30 or more minutes, but it was getting to be dinner time!

20140130-140228.jpg

My little cutie is just so adorable in her apron and a ponytail!

20140130-140245.jpg

Leave a Reply

