Little Man (baby) Clothes

Standard

20140129-164731.jpg

I miss buying baby girl clothes…all the bows and headbands and tutus and sweet floral patterns…and when I say I love baby boy clothes now, it’s true, but I don’t love them as much as baby girl clothes. However, I do love dressing my  baby boy up as an old man. So, I’ve made him a shirt with sewn-on bowtie and suspenders, and he is absolutely adorable when he wears them!20140129-164742.jpg

When I started this sewing project, I cut out the fabric (length of shirt and folded in half) and began sewing on a suspender by hand, which is fun to do while watching television or something, but it takes a while…Then, when I found time to pull out the sewing machine during a “rest” time (since my 2-and-a-half-year-old does not take naps anymore, just has some quiet play time in her room), I finished up this project in a heartbeat. I used a zig-zag stitch on the suspenders, positioning them the length of the shirt, starting just under the little neckline fold. Then I folded a rectangular piece of fabric in half, lengthwise and inside out, and sewed a seam to make it a skinnier rectangle. I tucked in seams to sew closed the two sides, then twisted a few times and sewed the twist directly onto the shirt, going over it several times, to secure the bow tie in place. Finished!

 

snugly man

Leave a Reply

