Pen Elaine’s {mommy’s} most favorite book…this week

Standard

 
We have been discovering a plethora of delightful books this summer! Some books are favorites of Pen Elaine’s while others become favorites of mine, so we can practice showing consideration for the other by reading the ones we know the other prefers, or sometimes we make a deal where I can read the one Pen Elaine really wants and then she’ll let me read the one that I really want, and vice versa.
Oftentimes, we win the other one over to loving our personal favorite…and oftentimes I’ve read a book I’m on the fence about so many times that I try to hide it on the far end of the bookshelf…
Anyhow, we both loved

Before I Was Your Mother by Kathyn Lasky and illustrated by LeUyen Pham

20140730-164001-60001135.jpg
This is a very sweetly told story, first person, about remembering childhood while comparing it to her present state of motherhood and the inevitable changes it brings to a woman’s life. The memories are charming and colorful, and the end of the book warmed my heart every time, often to little happy tears…maybe I am just soft, but I highly recommend this lovely book. It reminded me of the beautiful blessings that God has given me and the love I get to pass in to my children.

 

 

Reading together is a great way to open up opportunities for discussion, even with a 3-year-old! Books open her mind to new possibilities and exploring the unknown. When we read together, we both think of questions that we’d like to ask each other. Pen Elaine is very inquisitive, and most all toddlers and preschoolers go through a very long “why” phase of wanting to understand how the world works. Reading a variety of books together helps encourage and develop curiosity and creativity and school preparedness. Reading together, just like eating dinner together as a family, is a way to promote success in school, teaching your child that they are loved and valued by the time you give to them, time where they can listen and also be heard. Reading is a time to snuggle and have safe touch, important for all areas of development in a young individual.

Leave a Reply

