Quickly create a Gallery Wall

Standard

  
Hello beautiful summer! We moved to a different house, so packing and moving and turning a house into a home took up all the time that I would normally have gotten to spend “blogging.” However, now that we’ve been in the house for almost a month-and-a-half, that “excuse” has officially expired. Welcome back to me! Appropriately, I’m celebrating my return with my personal trick to creating a gallery wall. My husband and I are wall art junkies, collected almost exclusively through church garage sales, “junking,” and framing art created by family and friends. So, to make our collection look pleasing, I wanted to construct thoughtful arrangements into a larger work of art.

In this first example, I was going for a portrait theme, mixing painted portraits with family portraits – you can see in the “after” photo that I later added some silhouettes as well. I left some blank frames where I plan to add in a Scripture word art, either printed off the computer or that I paint myself, but I wanted to have the place for the quotes ready to fill in with the frames that I already own.

So, without further explanation:

Step 1: Choose a unifying theme or idea for the gallery wall to give direction and inspiration {e.g. portraits, floral, landscapes, nautical, quotes, round objects, or just paint all the frames the same color}

Step 2: Gather the frames/prints/art/décor that might want to be included in the arrangement

Step 3: Arrange the objects on the floor in a pleasing way

Step 4: Take a photo!

Step 5: Measure the height and width of your arrangement (envisioning the gallery as a large square that encompasses all the pieces, measuring the height at the tallest point, same with width)

*If you are like me and can only have breakable frames lying on your floor for so long, now would be an acceptable break in the process if you need to pick up the arrangement and continue later or just continue without hazards on the floor where a 1-year-old might step on them!!! You can refer to your photo and measurements to hang your beautiful gallery wall!

Step 6: With small pencil marks, measure out the height and width of the gallery wall where you want it to go – I just made small marks in the middle of either side and the middle of top and bottom.

Step 7: Refer to your pic as you hang! One thing at a time, noting each piece’s relation to the surrounding pieces, I started in the middle usually and work out to either side

*side note, if things don’t look right or centered when you finish, check your measurements on the wall to see if the height/width match your goal – one time I marked the wall incorrectly on one side and had to do the left half over again : p

For this second example, my theme was floral, if you can’t tell 🙂 I love how it turned out! I knew which print I wanted in the middle and that I wanted my largest frames anchoring the ends and went from there. Once I had it arranged on the floor in a way that pleased my eye, I completed all my steps! In fact, I completed this larger arrangement at two different times, using my picture and measurements to hang the next day.

 Hope you enjoy unifying some meaningful art and making a gallery wall where you live!

Ecclesiastes 3:11-13

He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end. 12I perceived that there is nothing better for them than to be joyful and to do good as long as they live; 13also that everyone should eat and drink and take pleasure in all his toil—this is God’s gift to man.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

